good vibes · personal

One step at a time for new beginnings

I’m only 27 years old but I already felt like I’ve lost half of my life because of working to earn. That everyday routine that you have to wake up, take a bath, wear something presentable, get stuck in the traffic for 2 hours, work 8-9 hours, go home, sleep and same routine the next day. This what my life is for the past 9 years.

I started working when I was 18 years old, I was a Graphic Designer in an architectural firm and when I was that age I love the idea of earning my own money, that I don’t have to ask for money from my mom instead I’ll be the one to provide things that she wants and needs, that I can buy things that I can’t before, but am I happy? Yes, for a moment. What I didn’t realize is that I’m giving up my “time and health”. Like for example, I love sports – I often play volleyball and badminton with my best friend, I jog and work out at least 3x a week, I love art – I doodle, paint and sketch almost everyday especially when I feel inspired, I also love making DIY and recycling stuff like bracelets, necklaces, dog clothes, etc., I love exploring new places, looking for affordable restaurants, parks and art galleries to hang out and lastly, meeting with good all friends and catch up. Now? Every time I get a day off, I’ll plan stuff like to make an artwork or meet up with my friends or make my dog a new sweater and I end up with I’d rather spend it at home and get a decent sleep. I got stuck in the idea that I need to work hard to earn so I can do all the things that I love – Somehow true but I realized, naaaah! The system made us think like that, like we need to work so we can provide for our daily needs and occasional wants. Have you seen this picture before?
1bdd869e28a41cddd0a04c94c49d3ea8
Have you done your research? I have, so, starting this year I’ll dedicate it to new experiences, happiness and courage to take risks. I’m proud to say I’m not normal and I have no plans of following what the system is telling me what to do.

Everyday I access the internet and seen a couple of inspiring videos of people who quitted their job and started traveling and I woke up one day just staring at the ceiling thinking “These are people like me, I’m no different from them, why can’t I do what they’re doing?!” One step at a time Jois, one step at a time.

A new way to earn.
There are a lot of ways to earn if you really want to earn, if you’re a first time risker (like me) I know that it’s hard at first but I know eventually i’ll get a hold of it sooner or later.

If you have savings (I don’t) you can start your own business – I’ve watched a TV show who showcases small entrepreneurs and there is 2 college students who sells patches. Like logo patches that you can use on your bag, cap, clothes etc. They sell it for only 30php and above depending on the design and size, they also do customized designs. They have really cool branding and they handle their social media really well so many people are supporting them. As for me, I’ll stick with online job for good, who knows I might just start a business but not sometime soon. Since I have experience working online as a Virtual Assistant this will be my first step. I have background with Graphic Designing, Admin Task, Social Media Management, SEO and Customer Service. The pay and working hours are depending with the client, all you need is a stable internet connection, a perfectly working laptop or desktop and good communication skills. You can check out Upwork and Peopleperhour for clients who are looking for people to work for them via online. But make sure to balance working hours, more time for yourself.

If you are traveling and looking for a free place to crash with free food then you can try Worldpackers. They offer wide variety of task you can do for them in exchange for free accommodation and food and still get to explore the city afterwards.

Use “risk” as a motivation.
Second step – If you want to survive, don’t be afraid to take risk and instead use it as a motivation to push forward. There are times that you will fell down and struggle but never forget, there is always a rainbow after the rain. So always be positive and practice to look on the bright side of life. I know that this step will help me grow  even further.

A list of new things to accomplish.
Third is to simply live the life that you wanted for your self. Set a goal at least every month of the things you’ve been longing to do but wasn’t able to do it simply because of your previous job, the feeling of self accomplishment and and self fulfilment is just simply rewarding.

Help is there if you know who and how to ask properly.
It is easier to do things when you have someone to guide you along the way. It can be a he or she, a family or a friend or a special someone. As long as that someone who will not leave you behind when things get tough, instead someone who will help you research, give you advices and be there with you through thick and thin.

Experience is the one thing in life you can treasure until your last breath, not money nor material things. You are given the gift of life to live it the way you chose to live it. Don’t let people tell you what to do especially when you feel like you won’t feel happy with the outcome of your efforts. There are a lot of roads you can take, it’s not just left and right. Challenge is there to help you grow, just always stay happy and live well. Love and light everyone and thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “One step at a time for new beginnings

    1. Thanks Neribells, wishing you all the best as well, especially with the kiddies. 🙂 we’ll see each other again for sure, i have a bag of goodies from my cebu trip for you guys. ❤️💋

      Like

Leave a Reply

